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Chapter 31 

Virginia Amusement Device Regulations 

Part I 

General Provisions 

13 VAC 5-31-10. Purpose. 

A. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards for the regulation, design, construction, 

maintenance, operation, and inspection of amusement devices. 

B. The provisions of the USBC, including but not limited to all administrative procedures shall 

apply in the administration and enforcement of this chapter and to amusement devices to the 

extent theysuch provisions are not superseded by the provisions of this chapter. 

13 VAC 5-31-40. Incorporated standards. 

A. The following standards are hereby incorporated by reference for use as part of this chapter: 

1. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standard No. B77.1-90 for the regulation of 

passenger tramways; and 

2. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Standard Nos. F698-94, F747-95 F747-

97, F770-93, F846-92, F853-93 F853-98, F893-87, F1159-94 F1159-97a, F1193-95 F1193-97, 

F1305-94, F1950-99, F1957-99 and F2007-00 for the regulation of amusement devices. 

The standards referenced above may be procured from: 

ANSI, 11 W. 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036 

ASTM, 100 Barr Harbor Dr., West Conshohocken, PA 19428-2956 19428-2959 
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B. The provisions of this chapter govern where they are in conflict with any provisions of the 

standards incorporated by reference in this chapter. 

C. The following requirements supplement the provisions of the ASTM standards incorporated 

by reference in this chapter: 

1. The operator of an amusement device shall be at least 16 years of age, except when the person 

is under the supervision of a parent or guardian and engaged in activities determined not to be 

hazardous by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry; 

2. The amusement device shall be attended by an operator at all times during operation except 

that (i) one operator is permitted to operate two or more amusement devices provided they are 

within the sight of the operator and operated by a common control panel or station and (ii) one 

operator is permitted to operate two kiddie rides with separate controls provided the distance 

between controls is no more than 35 feet and the controls are equipped with a positive pressure 

switch; and 

3. The operator of an amusement device shall not be (i) under the influence of any drugs which 

may affect the operator's judgment or ability to assure the safety of the public or (ii) under the 

influence of alcohol. 

D. Where an amusement device was manufactured under previous editions of the standards 

incorporated by reference in this chapter, the previous editions shall apply to the extent that they 

are different from the current standards. 

13 VAC 5-31-50. Certification of amusement device inspectors. 
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A. Any person, including local building department personnel, inspecting an amusement device 

relative to a certificate of inspection shall possess a valid certificate of competence as an 

amusement device inspector from the BHCD. 

B. Local building department personnel enforcing this chapter and private inspectors shall attend 

periodic training courses as designated and provided required by DHCD. 

13 VAC 5-31-60. Appeals. Appeals from the local building department concerning the 

application of this chapter shall be made to the local board of building code appeals established 

by the USBC. Application for appeal shall be filed with the local building department within 14 

calendar days after receipt of the decision of the local building department. The board of appeals 

shall hear the appeal within seven calendar days after the application for appeal is filed. After 

final determination by the board any person who was a party to the appeal may appeal to the 

TRB within 14 calendar days of receipt of the decision to be appealed. Such appeal shall be in 

accordance with the procedures established in the USBC, under the authority granted by § 36-

98.3 of the Code of Virginia where the provisions of Chapter 6 of Title 36 of the Code of 

Virginia and the USBC apply to amusement devices. 

NOTE: Because of the short time frames normally associated with amusement device operations, 

DHCD staff will be available to assist in finding a timely resolution to disagreements between 

owners or operators and the local building department upon request by either party. 

Part II 

Owner or Operator Responsibilities 
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13 VAC 5-31-90. Accidents. In the event of an accident involving serious injury or death the 

owner or operator shall: 

1. Contact the responsible local building department as soon as practical, but not latter than the 

next work day; 

2. Cease operation until the responsible local building department approves resuming operation, 

except that approval from the responsible local building department for resuming operation is not 

required if the investigation required by subdivision 3 of this section provides reasonable 

evidence that the serious injury or death was not related to malfunction or improper operation; 

3. Conduct an investigation to include (i) an examination of the accident scene; (ii) an interview 

of any witnesses or persons involved in the accident; and (iii) compiling a written report. The 

report shall contain a summary of the investigation and a description of the device involved, 

including the name of the manufacturer, the serial number and the date of manufacture, if 

available; and 

4. Submit the investigation report to the responsible local building department within 24 hours 

after the time of the accident except that if its office is closed during the 24-hour period, the 

report shall be submitted within four hours after the office reopens. 

Part III 

Enforcement 

13 VAC 5-31-100. Local building department. The local building department's official or 

representative shall be permitted to do the following relative to an amusement device or devices 

intended to be, or being, operated at a site within their jurisdiction: 
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1. Collect fees for a permit to operate, renewal of a permit to operate and inspections conducted 

by staff to issue a certificate of inspection. The total for fees associated with one permit to 

operate and any associated inspections or one renewal of a permit to operate and any associated 

inspections shall not exceed the following: 

a. $15 for each kiddie ride under the permit; 

b. $25 for each circular ride or flat-ride under the permit which can be inspected from less than 

20 feet above ground; and 

c. $45 for each other type of amusement device under the permit. 

Notwithstanding the above, the fee for each amusement device under the permit shall be reduced 

by 50% when the inspection for obtaining a certificate of inspection for that device is conducted 

by a private inspector, and shall not exceed a maximum of $150 for one site; 

2. In addition to the above, require permits and charge fees as appropriate under the USBC for 

amusement devices which are being initially constructed in whole or in part at a site within the 

jurisdiction for intended operation at that site. This authorization does not apply to an amusement 

device which is only being reassembled or undergoing a major modification at a site or being 

moved to a site for operation; 

3. Approve modifications of this chapter upon determination that the public health, safety and 

welfare are assured; 

4. Conduct an inspection at any time when the device would normally be open for operation, or 

at any other time if permission is granted by the owner or operator, for compliance with this 

chapter; and 
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5. Issue an order to temporarily cease the operation of an amusement device upon determination 

that it may be unsafe or otherwise endanger the public. The temporary order shall remain in 

effect until a new certificate of inspection is issued. 

13 VAC 5-31-110. Enforcement. The local building department's official or representative shall 

enforce the provisions of the VADR as provided herein, and as interpreted by the State Building 

Code Technical Review Board (TRB). 

The local building department's official or representative shall be responsible for the following 

relative to an amusement device or devices intended to be, or being, operated at a site within 

their jurisdiction: 

1. Approving or rejecting any application made for a permit to operate, or renewal of a permit to 

operate, within five days after submittal and issuing or renewing the permit when appropriate. 

The permit shall be issued or renewed for the length of time the device or devices will be 

operating at the site, except that if the length of time exceeds one year, the permit or renewal 

shall expire after one year. The permit to operate or renewed permit to operate shall state (i) the 

estimated length of time that the device or devices will be operated at the site; (ii) the name of, or 

otherwise identify, the device or devices covered by the permit; and (iii) the date when the 

permit expires; 

2. When a certificate of inspection is sought by the owner or operator, conducting an inspection 

to assure compliance with this chapter unless the owner or operator is providing an approved 

private inspector. If the owner or operator has given reasonable notice that a certificate of 
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inspection is sought and designated a specific day for the inspection, then the inspection shall be 

conducted on that day; 

3. Accepting a written report of inspection from an approved private inspector; 

4. When in receipt of a written report of inspection from an approved private inspector or after 

assuring compliance with this chapter through inspection, completing a certificate of inspection 

distributed by DHCD and causing the certificate to be posted or affixed on or in the vicinity of 

the device in a location visible to the public; 

5. Accepting an existing certificate of inspection for a kiddie ride in which (i) the passenger 

height is limited to 54 inches or less; (ii) the capacity is 12 passengers or less; and (iii) the 

assembly time is two hours or less, provided the existing certificate of inspection for the ride was 

issued by a local building department in this Commonwealth less than one year prior to the date 

for which a certificate of inspection is sought, regardless of whether disassembly has occurred. 

Notwithstanding the above, if the kiddie ride is determined to be in violation of this chapter, the 

existing certificate of inspection shall not be valid; and 

6. Issuing an order to cease operation upon discovery or notification that an accident involving 

the device has caused serious injury or death, except where the owner or operator has determined 

that the serious injury or death was not related to malfunction or improper operation of the 

device. Whether or not the order to cease operation has been issued, the official or representative 

shall conduct an inspection, or accept an inspection report from an approved private inspector, to 

assure the device complies with this chapter and is safe for operation. 
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I certify that this regulation is full, true, and correctly dated. 

      _____________________________________ 

      (Signature of Certifying Official) 

      William C. Shelton, Director 

      Department of Housing and Community Development 

      Date:______________________________ 


